Don’t miss your opportunity to get a little extra cash this summer! Governor Walker and the Wisconsin State Legislature have determined that the $400 million budget surplus will be given back to tax payers in the form of a Child Sales Tax Rebate. The $100 rebate is for Sales and Use tax paid on purchases made for raising a dependent child in 2017.
When can you file for the rebate?
- Filing start date: May 15, 2018
- Filing deadline: July 2, 2018
Who can make a claim?
- Must have a qualified child
- A child may only be claimed by one individual
Who is a qualified child?
Child must be:
- Under the age of 18 on December 31, 2017
- A dependent of a claimant for tax year 2017
- A Wisconsin resident on December 31, 2017
- A United States citizen
What you need to file your claim?
- Your Social Security number and Wisconsin residency for tax year 2017
- Your qualified child’s Social Security number and date of birth
- A bank routing number and account number for direct deposit
- If you are a nonresident or part-year resident that moved out of Wisconsin in 2017, you must submit receipts showing at least $100 of Wisconsin Sales and Use tax was paid in 2017 for each child. You must also have proof each child was a Wisconsin resident on December 31, 2017
Please contact Hawkins Ash CPAs with questions regarding the Child Sales Tax Rebate. More information can also be found at https://childtaxrebate.wi.gov/ or by calling the Wisconsin Department of Revenue at (608) 266-5437.